For those of you just waking up from a long winter’s nap…did you know that Christmas is 16 days away.  I checked my calendar and today is December 9.  Really?  What happened to December 1-8?  Wasn’t I just eating Thanksgiving turkey.

So I put down my turkey leg and put up our tree in the front room.  Here’s a picture of our sparkly, silver last minute addition to the Christmas decorating category…

You couldn’t do it! 

You had to look.  

Now I saw you looking and thinking, “Cute room and all, but where’s the tree skirt?” 

I know.  It’s shameful.  A Christmas oversight of epic proportions.  So you Christmas decorators extrodinaire.  This picture below is for you. 

I cropped it so you could look without feeling embarassment for me and the unadorned feet of my tree. 

Even better cropped picture and check out that armillary.  I bought it years ago at a flea market.  I’m not sure of the original purpose of armillaries, except to look generally fabulous and to be able demonstrate your knowledge of the word, “armillary.”

Here’s the other side of the room, next to the fireplace.  This is the perfect sanctuary for toasty fire, a cup of tea, and a really good book, like “The Help.”

The front room has french doors that open out onto a back porch, which is truly wonderful…..in the spring.

The other day I had some friends over and we were sitting in the front room.  I’m sure no one noticed, but I was quite impressed with myself as I grandly opened the doors to “let some fresh air in.”  Not quite so impressed with myself as I noticed them all shivering 10 minutes later.  Note to self….wait until spring to be fabulous.

I leave you with one last photo from the front room going into the dining room.  I post some pictures of the dining room next week. 

And for those of you official Christmas decorating sticklers….you will be happy to note…..

….that room has a tree skirt!

