One of the twins had to have a twirly whirly skirt.  I guess twirly whirly skirts are alll the rage if you are nine and Hannah Montana is your fashion icon.

I saw her outside one day. 

Arms lifted to the sky.

Blonde hair floating in the wind.

With a smile on her face.

And her twirly whirly skirt was whirling.  Whirling ike it could whirl until today turned into tomorrow.

And my heart skipped a beat and filled with overflowing emotion and awe.

Awe.

Awe at the joy and the abandon with which she twirled.

I wanted to pause that moment in time.  You see, time is so fleeting and the years rush by faster and faster than a twirly whirly skirt could ever twirl.  And one day in the not so distant future, that skirt will become a distant memory.

So I wanted to imprint that twirly whirly skirt on my heart forever. 

For the storms ahead. 

For the teenage years. 

For the challenges and difficulties that life sometimes puts in our path.

I want to tell those twirly whirly skirted girls….when faced with the mountains and valleys of life….

                                  …..I hope you dance.

I Hope You Dance

I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean

Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens

Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

I hope you’ll dance…..I hope you’ll dance

                                   ~Mark D. Sanders & Tia Sillers

I love this song.  So simple, yet so powerful.

I think he wrote it for my heart.

Recently a fellow blogger who knew how much I love it, sent me this book.

Signed by the author.

Amazing.

That she knew I needed it.  That she knew my heart needed it.

Thank you, Shirley.

And the twins twirly whirly skirts thank you, too.

PS  Kolein and Jen, just for you my smiling face is at the top of the blog.  BTW the house is still way cuter 🙂

 

