Tags

, ,


I knew when I saw these for the first time.

I just knew.

They were an ABC after-school-special just waiting to happen.

Remember those after-school-specials?

Remember the one where the girl was not that cute and she was wearing glasses and frumpy clothes with not cute hair and she was super shy.  And she didn’t really have any friends.  And for some reason she was always drawing in a notebook.

Yep.

Super awkward.

And then one day she was helping the star football player with his homework and he gazed into her eyes….well actually he really gazed into her glasses, but it didn’t matter because he saw beyond those glasses…..

                                …..and truly saw her for the first time.

He saw her for the true beauty that she was.

*sigh*

Weren’t those ABC after-school-specials just the best.?

These old pennants are just like that.

Just like an after-school-special.

When I first saw them they were frumpy and old and folded and one step away from wearing glasses and writing in a notebook.

But I knew that they could be so much more.

I knew they would make the perfect valance for the playroom.

So vintage.

So one-of-a-kind.

So ready for a make-over.

I sewed grey ribbon to the corners of each pennant.

And tied them to white wooden peg boards.


And then because, in addition to watching every after-school-special ever made, I also have been known to study the Pottery Barn catalog cover to cover.  And a while back, Pottery Barn featured pennants hung from pegs.

So, of course, I tied some more pennants to white peg boards that I hung on the wall.

The white peg boards came from Lowe’s.

The grey ribbon came from Wal-mart.

The vintage banners came from an old garage.

All characters in one of my favorite after-school-specials ever.

And there’s no inspiration like a good after-school-special.

Especially the ending.

Like the ending where the quarterback was supposed to meet his stuck-up snobby overly-tanned girlfriend at the dance.  But all of a sudden on the dance floor, the dancers parted and there was the previously shy, notebook-writing, frumpy-haired girl.

Looking like the next super model.

Yep. 

Just like my pennants 🙂

PS  I am linking this up at Home Stories and Today’s Creative Blog and at Kim’s.

