My Old Kentucky Home

Some people have a Cricut.

Some people have a Silhouette Cameo

Nope.

Not me.

I have my very own personal vinyl cutter.

Her name is Greta and she is one fine vinyl cutter, but she is tough.

You see, when I talk there is a lot of hand waving and excited gesturing.  As a matter of fact, truth be told, I am heavy on the exuberance and excitement and light on the follow-through.

Not Greta.

For example, I say, “Greta.  I need the largest state of Kentucky possible you can create in vinyl. So I can create…..

……these.

Greta is not a hand-waver.  Greta is not overly, unnecessarily exuberant.  Greta is efficient and task-oriented and always follows through.  And, of course, the next day a 12″ x 8″ vinyl Kentucky shows up at my house.

“I want to see it when you are through,” says my vinyl cutting task-master.

No pressure.

So I stop my hand-waving, curb my enthusiasm and get to work.

To complete this project I:

(1)  Bought two canvases from Hobby Lobby.  They came two to a package.  I bought long canvases because Kentucky is a long state.  People who live in long states or square states might want to take this into account when purchasing canvases from Hobby Lobby.

(2)  I applied the vinyl of Kentucky to one canvas.

(3)  I applied the outline of the vinyl to another canvas.

(4)  I painted the two canvases with leftover paint samples from these projects.

(5)  I waited one hour while I watched Project Runway All Stars and bemoaned the fact that Heidi Klum and Tim Gunn are not on the show.

(6)  I peeled off the vinyl and debated if I should use them again, realized that Greta might frown on this, and threw the vinyl away except for one corner I saved.

(7)  I cut out a star from that little piece of vinyl and added it to the canvas.

(8)  Then I hung the canvases on the wall of the playroom at the top of the stairs with thumbtacks.

(9)  I called Greta and tell her how wonderful she is and start hand-waving about my next project.

Really! 

That’s it. 

Easy peasy project.

Don’t even think about asking for Greta’s number though….

                                  ……it’s under lock and key 🙂

PS  Don’t forget about our impossibility challenge.  We would love for you to join us.  Please note that while I do paint and sand and sew…..baking overwhelms me.  See my attempts at homemade bread with all the other “impossibles” at our linky party on January 31.

48 thoughts on “My Old Kentucky Home

  1. OK, so I can’t call Greta..:(.. This project screams both elegance and simplicity…Love it! Going to “copy cat it” for my guest room. So I will make certain I follow your instructions to get the wider canvas, as NC is a really long state..hint to Greta!..:)

    OK..I am glad to hear that you are a fellow “hand waver/facial gesture” kind of lady..My hubby said that if my hands were tied behind my back, I would
    most likely not be able to speak..and you know, he’s right..I would be mute!..

    Have a wonderful day…You have the most wonderful ideas (saying with both hands waving)!

  2. Great project! I still have another similar idea in my head from your other blog…the one with the keys and addresses of previous homes underneath. Love this!

  3. That is such a cute idea! I really like that. You made it sound so simple too. I think that adds a wonderful personal stamp to your home.

  4. I love the clean, graphic quality of these! What a great idea! I’m wondering what other graphic imagery might work with your technique…:)
    -Revi

  5. The sun shines bright in my old Kentucky homeeeee……

    Are you in Kentucky? How many Greta’s can there be in Kentucky? Bloggers, let’s hunt her down!

    ~Bliss~

  6. What a great project -love it!!

    I am so with you on the Project Runway all stars show – missing Heidi and Tim. The model thats standing in for Heidi – is just plain annoying! xo

  7. You do beat all! That’s the way we talk in this part of ‘ol Kentucky 🙂 That is the cutest, ever. To quote the kids at school—I’m going to copycat that.

  8. OMG!!! You live down in the part of ‘ol Kentucky where my parents are from!!! Love it! And yes that is the cutest thing ever, bless your heart! 😉

  9. Thanks KariAnne….You flatter me so!
    I’m linking this blog entry to my blog!
    (I’m sure you’ve got another project up your sleeve…)

  10. What an absolutely fabulous idea! I love it, I wonder how hard it would be to make one of Manitoba, hmmm…I will think on that. Thank you for the “how-to”.
    Hugs, Cindy

  11. so cool! i love state thingies {technical term} like that. the really weird thing is that while I live in IL, i collect vintage and other cute/handmade state souvenir items from CA! wishful thinking that i were a California Girl I guess…

  12. These look fabulous! My daughter moved from Michigan to teach 3rd grade in Kentucky, not sure how close she is to that star on your lovely project.

  13. Cool!

    And what a wonderful friend you have, too!

    But no matter if it is easy, as you say…. You still had to think-it-up. So you are very cool too, my Dear. “Auntie” sezzzzzzzzzzzz.

    “Anyone who says they have only one life to live, must not know how to read a book.”
    ~Author Unknown

  14. some people are just so clever and creative!!! We don’t have something as clever as yours but we did find maps of our lake looking from above and framed those….pretty neat! Have a wonderful week end girl….xoxo

  15. i adore this project! it is simply fabulous and so clean and striking! thanks for sharing! i guess i will have to get my “rufus” up and running and see if he can pump me out a garden state! : ) sending hugs…

  16. BTW – people like me are always looking at thrift stores for scraps from other projects…so pretty please…pretty in pink please…don’t throw scraps away!!!

Leave a comment